GF Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins

This recipe is truly a treasure and tastes AMAZING!!!!  You would never be able to tell that these muffins have no grains in them compared to regular muffins made with flour or flour alternatives.  I did a little tweaking with the original recipe I found over at  Running With Spoons  and came up with something that worked within the family budget (no special ingredients needed!) and was tasty.

My first try at this recipe was a disaster.  I made the mistake of trying to substitute butter for the almond butter.  It made sense to me at the time; however, I should know better by now not to trust my brain after a long night of hypoglycemia.  Sheesh! :-/  Needless to say, the muffins turned out horrible.  I was so afraid to try again because I didn’t want to waste the ingredients.

Then one day a friend of mine gave me the best piece of information which re-kindled my desire to give this recipe another try.  I learned that you can substitute regular peanut butter for almond butter. Ha!  Genius!  Why hadn’t I thought of that before?!?!  They are both in the nut family and have the same texture and cooking consistency needed.  So butter, coconut oil and ghee can all be interchanged with each other, but nut butters need to stick with the nuts.

Another helpful tip is that this recipe usually only makes 9 regular muffins.  Yeah, I know, stupid GF recipes don’t like to make the nice, even dozen.  Drives me CRAZY!  Instead, use a mini muffin tin to make your batter stretch farther or better yet, double the recipe so you will end up with a nice dozen regular sized muffins and approximately 10-12 mini muffins.  The way these babies taste, you will need those mini muffins to fill the hungry hoards when snack time rolls around.  They won’t last long in your kitchen! 🙂

So…. Here’s what you need to get started.

  •   Blender (I love using my Ninja for this.)
  •   ½ cup peanut butter
  •   1 ripe medium/large banana
  •  1 egg
  •   1/4 C. honey
  •   1/4 C. unsweetened cocoa powder
  •   2 Tbsp. ground flaxseed
  •   1 tsp. vanilla extract
  •   1/2 tsp. baking soda
  •   1/2 tsp. baking powder
  •   ¼ cup chocolate chips
  •   Peanut butter chips for sprinkling on top (optional)

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 375F and prepare a muffin pan by spraying with cooking spray. Set aside.  Add all ingredients except for chocolate chips to a blender and blend on high until batter is smooth and creamy. Stir in chocolate chips by hand.  Pour batter into prepared muffin pan, filling each cavity until it is about ¾ full.  Bake for 10-12 minutes (8 minutes for mini muffins), until the tops of your muffins are set and a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean. Allow muffins to cool in pan for ~10 minutes before removing. Store in an air-tight container for up to a week.

E helped me with the peanut butter chips on top.  He was being creative. 🙂

In terms of taste and moistness, I would give these a perfect 10.

Leave a Reply

