Easy Gluten-Free Pizza Crust

I honestly can’t believe it has been so long since I’ve posted on here, but so much has been filling our lives of late that sitting down at a computer is the last thing I contemplate in a given day.  It’s easy to just snap a picture and post on Facebook with a quick caption letting people gain a glimpse of what we are up to, but actually sitting down to write is right up there with “taking a vacation” in my book.  Haha!

Eli's Eggs FlyerSome of the biggest changes taking place is the fact that E started his very first business selling free-range eggs.  Tim and I have been helping him get things off the ground, but he is learning how to do a lot of the work himself.  People have been telling us that our prices are too low, but we feel that they are perfect.  The point of selling the eggs is to teach E about small business ownership, responsibility, math skills, stewardship and to provide good food at an affordable price.  The whole reason we started raising chickens was because we wanted to be able to enjoy the healthy eggs ourselves.  It’s actually cheaper to keep live chickens than it is for us to purchase the free-range eggs from a local farmer’s market or Whole Foods!  We go through eggs like water now a days, which brings me to the second big change in our lives….

Since the beginning of November I got completely fed up with my weight and failing health.  I never had energy and found that I was becoming more and more cantankerous as the days passed simply because of the constant fatigue and just feeling sick all the time.  I’ve been wanting to get rid of the extra weight for a LONG time now, but nothing I tried was working.  I was so hopeful that once my hypothyroidism was under control with the medication, it would help get my metabolism and hormones back in line allowing the weight to come off more easily.

Too bad it didn’t work! 😦  There are so many supposed “quick fixes” out there that promise to help you lose weight and feel better, but they all come with a pretty big price tag.  Tim assured me that he would support whatever direction I wanted to choose as long as I could stay within budget.  Well, to even supplement one meal per day with one of the health shakes would cut out half our monthly food budget.  I still had to feed five more people plus the rest of my meals for the month!  Looking at the cost of everything, I decided to go a different direction.  Instead of spending half our grocery budget on a miracle powder, I invested in a Ninja Nutri Blender (my birthday present!) and changed up how I cooked and grocery shopped.  No more processed food and majority of items purchased are raw fruits, veggies, eggs, nuts, etc.

The change in eating helped lower my blood sugars dramatically.  It got to the point where I wanted to quit eating the healthy stuff because I was having such an awful time dealing with hypoglycemia.  A friend in our Down syndrome group recommended a diet called the Ketogenic Diet.  The whole basis of the diet is to decrease the amount of carbs consumed in a day and increase the amounts of fats.  The body will eventually switch from burning carbs/glucose for energy and begin burning off the fat.  Fat burned for fuel produces 70 percent MORE energy than carbs/glucose.  It also requires a lot less insulin to control.

In less than 2 months, I am down 17 pounds with no extra effort other than eating a ton of butter, bacon, coconut oil, eggs, etc. Hahaha!  The biggest change but one that has made the most difference in how I feel healthwise overall is by going gluten-free.  It made sense to just do it because breads have the highest carb value and cause my blood sugars to spike more than eating a chocolate candy bar.  The more I’ve read about the negative affects of gluten, the more convinced I am to stay away from it!

So, finally….CONCLUSION. 🙂  This recipe is one that I discovered digging around online for good Keto cooking ideas.  My favorite part is that it can be made into a thin crust pizza or a deep dish Chicago-style pizza.  I’m posting the instructions for the deep dish.  The original crust recipe can be found over at Cooky’s Creation (thin crust pizza) and Eat Keto (deep dish pizza).  I did some adjustments to the crust ingredients as well as the meat in the deep dish.

Crust

  • 2 C. shredded Cheddar Cheese
  • 1 C. shredded Mozzarella
  • 3-4 Tbl. cream cheese
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 C. almond meal/flour
  • 1/2 C. coconut flour

Melt the cheddar and mozzarella cheese inside a glass bowl in the microwave stirring every 30-45 seconds.  When completely melted, dump into a large mixing bowl and add the rest of the ingredients.  Mix well until it forms a slightly sticky dough.

Spray a large springform pan and press the dough up the sides and bottom.  Bake at 425 degrees for 15-20 minutes.  Remove from oven and fill with toppings.

2015-01-13 17.24.18

The original recipe said to just put the raw sausage in chunks onto the bottom of the crust.  Umm… I have a thing about mixing raw meat in a pizza.  That seems to just scream bacteria to me.  Instead, cook your sausage and drain off the excess grease.  I did one pound of Italian sausage and set it aside.

2015-01-13 17.21.18

Slice one onion thinly and throw into the hot pan you used to cook the sausage.  Oh yeah, it helps soften the onions just enough and gives them a little extra flavor as it soaks up the sausage bits from the pan. Oo lala!

2015-01-13 17.21.32

Place all the meat inside the crust.

2015-01-13 17.25.50

Layer thinly sliced red or green peppers on top of the meat.

2015-01-13 17.26.35

Add the cooked onions.  (Look at the lovely brown speckles!  That means FLAVOR!!!)

2015-01-13 17.27.25

Add 1 1/2 C. shredded mozzarella cheese (or more if you can get it to fit).

2015-01-13 17.28.47

Either use crushed tomatoes with a little salt or some pizza or spaghetti sauce.  I used my homemade spaghetti sauce for this one.  Sprinkle a good helping of Parmesan cheese.2015-01-13 17.31.17Place back in the oven set at 325 degrees and cook for approximately 30-45 minutes (or until cooked through and the center is hot).

2015-01-13 18.10.19

Remove from oven and gently remove the sides of the pan.  I would recommend gently running a spatula around the inside to help loosen any parts that might want to stick.

2015-01-13 18.10.36

2015-01-13 18.14.43

2015-01-13 18.14.55

So after eating two slices  of this delicious pizza along with a nice helping of Waldorf salad made with just apples, craisins and mayo, I didn’t take any insulin with the meal.  My blood sugars stayed between 78-96 the rest of the evening.  Again, this is very low-carb and EXCELLENT for maintaining good blood glucose levels without needing tons of insulin.  Another tid-bit is that my eldest son requests this pizza crust over any other.  And to think it’s GLUTEN FREE!!

2 thoughts on “Easy Gluten-Free Pizza Crust

    • Haha! Thankfully the Ketogenic diet I’m on for my type I diabetes focuses on carbs more than calories. Still losing weight and controlling blood sugars with the higher caloric intake so it doesn’t bother me. If I want to lose the weight really fast, I simply lower my daily calories.

Leave a Reply

