Pumpkin Spice Baked Oatmeal

Here is a new recipe I found on Pinterest that I thought I would give a try.  Of course, I didn’t stick to the original recipe as a whole.  I didn’t intend for that to happen, I just didn’t have all the called for ingredients in the house at the time.  Oops! 🙂  Anyhow, I’m not dissappointed with how it turned out.  Tim actually really, really liked the taste.

This is what the baked oatmeal looked like after baking in a 9×13 pan.

What I was impressed with the most was the fact that there was NO flour in this recipe and that I could mix it up the day before and store inside the refrigerator before baking the next morning.

After pulling out of the oven, I let it cool for about 10 minutes before cutting into squares.  Each square was spread with butter on top and sprinkled with a little brown sugar.  Very filling!!!

Instead of adding the chopped nuts and craisins, I added about a cup of chopped apples and a handful of raisins.  I also didn’t have cloves, so I substituted the coves and nutmeg for Pumpkin Pie Spice.  It added more of a cinnamon taste (which was fine by me!) because there was also cinnamon in the Spice blend. 

Pumpkin Spice Baked Oatmeal – by myblessedlife.net

INGREDIENTS:

  • 6 cups oats       
  • t tsp. salt 
  • 4 tsp. baking power 
  • 1 T. cinnamon  
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg                                                                                                                   
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 cup honey          
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree    
  • 4 eggs, beaten      
  • 1/4 cup milk   
  • 1 T. vanilla
  • 1/2 cup craisins
  • 1/2 cup chopped nuts

 DIRECTIONS:  Combine oats, salt, baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves in a bowl.  Add honey, eggs, pumpkin, milk and vanilla and stir well. Fold in craisins and nuts.  Pour into greased 9×13-inch pan. Bake at 375° for 30-40 minutes until lightly browned. Serve topped with butter or coconut oil, brown sugar or honey and milk.  For muffins, the bake time is approximately 20-25 minutes.  Yield: Approximately 10-12 servings

One thought on “Pumpkin Spice Baked Oatmeal

Leave a Reply

