“Loaded” Ultimate Pumpkin Bread

So today’s project included the desire to clean out some of the freezer surplus to make room for the up-coming season’s bounty plus I thought I might be able to get a yummy breakfast or two out of the deal. To my delight I had plenty of frozen pumpkin puree waiting for me. After digging around in the arctic air for a bit I also found bags of chopped apples. Yay for me! 🙂

With the pumpkin puree as my base, I whipped up a batch of Ultimate Pumpkin Bread batter and then threw in the thawed, chopped apples. I could have just stopped there, but still in my “purging” mode my eye caught site of a bag of pecans given to my husband by a co-worker for his birthday this past Friday sitting on the counter. I typically NEVER have fresh nuts of any kind in the house when baking so this was a great chance to try them out in a recipe.

The pumpkin bread recipe is always good, but with the two added ingredients, it turned out FABULOUS. The apples gave it a little extra sweetness while the pecans toned down the nutmeg and added a special nutty flavor all their own. Love, love, love it!!!  Talk about a perfect blend with the delicious pumpkin as the main ingredient.  Oh, and let’s not forget how moist pumpkin bread is…Ahhh…Sweet blissful bites of heaven…. 🙂

I’m very thankful that my boys are both enjoying working in the kitchen with me more and more.  I’s favorite thing to do is sit up on the counter next to me while I talk my way through a recipe and add ingredients.  He is gaining better fine motor skills every time he helps me pour ingredients inside the mixer, and after being shown once can now operate the KitchenAid on his own even adjusting the speed when I ask.

E likes to help me throw things into the mixer as well but his new favorite is helping with the cleanup.  Yay!!! 🙂  Today when I told him I was ready to wash the dishes, he left the cartoon he was watching and ran to get his step stool so he could help.  Let’s just say this mama’s heart is soooo happy and thankful for my big guy.

So here’s the recipe for this wonderful bread.  Hope you enjoy baking this treat for your family too! 🙂

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 C. flour                                                        
  • ½ tsp. baking powder
  • 3 tsp. cinnamon                                               
  • 1 tsp. nutmeg                                                   
  • ½ tsp. salt                                                        
  • 1 tsp. baking soda                                           
  • 3 C. sugar
  • 1 C. butter, half melted
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 C. pumpkin puree (16 oz.)
  • 1/2 – 3/4 C. chopped apples
  • handful pecans, finely chopped

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350˚F and spray two medium loaf pans with nonstick cooking spray.  In a medium bowl, mix the flour, spices, salt, baking soda, and baking powder and set aside.  In the bowl of a stand mixer with the wire whisk attached, dump in the sugar. Take the butter and put it in the microwave for about 30 seconds, so that it is half melted. Dump it into the sugar. Add the eggs. Cream these three ingredients together on medium speed for about 2 minutes or until fluffy. Add the pumpkin and combine well.  In three batches, add the dry ingredients and mix gently until each batch is just incorporated. Scrape the sides between each batch.  Pour half of the batter into a one of the prepared pans. Fold the pecans into the remaining batter and then pour it into the other prepared pan. Bake side-by-side for about one hour or until an inserted knife comes out clean the top is golden.

Yield: 2 “9×5 loaves.”

Leave a Reply

