Pancake Breakfast Cups

I found this neat idea on Pinterest (of course) and thought it would be fun to give it a try one day.  I had every intention of using the recipe that went along with the post, but I decided to go the lazy route instead.  I had made up a triple batch of my homemade buttermilk pancake batter a few days ago and still had a little leftover.  I was just going to pull out the griddle again to make pancakes for the boys, but after finding the pin for this idea, I knew I just had to give it a try.

Simply spray a muffin tin and pour 1/4 C. batter into each cup.  Place in preheated oven at 400 degrees for 10-15 minutes.

The only thing I had to do differently was push down the middles immediately after removing from the oven because my batter made little mountains instead of bowls. 🙂  Not complaining in the least!  It wasn’t hard at all and I believe the original recipe would cost more since it uses 6 eggs for one batch. Yikes!

After getting your “bowls” formed, remove from muffin tin and fill with your favorite filling.  We used both homemade jelly and homemade freezer jam.  I could also just imagine filling them with honey or your favorite syrup not to mention maybe some scrambled eggs and crumbled sausage.  Another simple idea would be to place cooked pieces of sausage links inside the batter before baking to make a “pig-in-a-blanket.”  Yummy! 

This was just so much easier than taking up the time to stand over a griddle trying to flip pancakes.  Just pour and bake.  Plus I loved the fact that the kids were able to eat them with their hands instead of needing forks.  (Less dishes to wash! Yay!) 🙂 

E, I and A were all very much into eating their breakfast.  Little man got a little charismatic about the whole experience!  Here’s the link to the original recipe found online at http://www.sweettoothlove.com/pancake-breakfast-cups/.  Again the nice thing about this whole idea is that you can use ANY pancake batter you want!  Here’s my recipe that I love and is reasonably priced based on ingredients.

One thought on “Pancake Breakfast Cups

  1. Pingback: Pancake Muffins | Following Footprints

Leave a Reply

