Chicken Pot Pie

With the cooler weather coming, it’s time to pull out the favorite fall recipes and yummy comfort food that the family enjoys.  One of the things I’ve always wanted to become more experienced making was pie crusts but just don’t have the opportunities needed to practice this art, and trust me, it’s an ART. 🙂

My first attempt at a pie crust ended up with two very happy little boys playing with “play dough” at the kitchen table instead of me creating a culinary masterpiece.  Blah!  However, after watching a ton of Youtube clips on pie crust making, I decided I would give it another try.

A chicken pot pie sounded like a great way to practice my crust-making skills while still staying away from baking any sweets.  I found this recipe online and gave it a try.  To my delight, the crust turned out GREAT and the family really enjoyed the new dish.  Yay!  This one is definitely going in my “keepers” recipe book for future use.

Ingredients for Crust (makes 2):

  • 12 T. chilled butter
  • 2 C. flour
  • 4 T. ice water
  • dash of salt

Ingredients for Filling:

  • 1/3 C. margarine or butter
  • 1/3 C. flour
  • 1/3 C. chopped onion
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. pepper
  • 1 3/4 C. chicken broth
  • 2/3 C. milk
  • 2 C. cooked, cubed chicken
  • 1 (10 ounce) pkg. frozen mixed veggies

In a large bowl combine flour and salt.  Slice butter into 12 individual pieces and add to bowl.  With a pastry cutter blend until mixture resembles pea-sized balls. 

Add ice water and mix by hand until dough forms a ball.  You might need to add more than 4 T.

Wrap tightly in plastic wrap and place inside the refrigerator until you are ready to roll out into a pie crust.   Begin preparing the filling.

Heat butter over low heat until melted.

Whisk in flour until forming a paste.

Slowly whisk in chicken broth then milk making sure there are no lumps.  Add salt, pepper, and onion.  Heat to boiling; stirring constantly.  Boil and stir one minute.

Stir in chicken and veggies.  (For this pie I used canned peas and carrots that I first strained.)

Prepare your pie crust by removing from the refrigerator and dividing in half.  Lightly flour your work surface and rolling pin or place dough between two pieces of parchment paper. 

Parchment paper, parchment paper.. How I love thee, let me count the ways…

Have I mentioned that I LOVE parchment paper?!?!  It has become my new best friend inside the kitchen.  I truly believe it was worth every penny spent on the fabulous stuff! 🙂  Anyway, back to the recipe….

Roll to desired size to fit your 9-inch pie pan.  Line pie plate with prepared bottom crust.

Pour in the filling.

Roll out the other half of the dough and cover the top with the top crust.  Flute edges and trim off any excess dough.  Cut a few slits in the top to vent.  Bake uncovered at 425 degrees for approximately 30-35 minutes.

Without adjusting the time or oven temperature, this pie cooks to perfection as is!

3 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pie

  1. Amy I have seriously been looking for a good and easy recipe to make pot pie because my husband LOVES pot pie but I didn’t know how to make it!!! Thanks to your easy and step by step directions, I’m excited to try making it this week!!! Thank you!!! 🙂

  2. I’m sitting here at 6 in the morning, hungry, and I read this with all the scrumptious pictures. 🙂 Congratulations on your pie crust success! It looks like you did a fabulous job!

Leave a Reply

