Apple Fritter Bites

I’m sure you can guess that these apple fritters cost a LOT less than the ones you would purchase at your local grocery store or donut shop. 🙂  For a fraction of the price you can make your own warm, savory treats right in your own kitchen.

Now I know I said I wasn’t supposed to “bake” anything until I finished losing all 15 pounds, BUT since I am down 10 pounds, I thought I would celebrate and try out a new recipe.  I’ve been just itching to get back in the kitchen and try out some new goodies.  Hehehe!

I was a little leery about attempting the fritters because you have to fry them like donuts.  For those of you who don’t know, my last attempt at making homemade donuts turned into a nasty failure.  No exaggeration!  Since then I’ve stayed away from any recipe that involves cooking in hot oil.  (I can only take so many failures before I lose my courage to forge ahead and try something new.  I’m still working on that weakness!!!)

Well to my delight this recipe explained how to ensure that your fritters cook all the way through depending on the size of the fritters and the amount of oil and temperature you use.  GREAT!  You can check out the recipe for yourself over at Cooking with K.

Start by slicing and peeling a large apple then cut it into pea-sized bites.  You will need a minimum of 1 1/2 cups.

In a medium bowl, mix:

  • 1 1/4 C. flour
  • 1/3 C. sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
     

In a small bowl, stir together 1/3 C. milk, 1 egg, 1 T. melted butter and 1/2 tsp. vanilla until egg is mixed well.

Pour into dry ingredients and stir just until all ingredients are mixed.

Add apples and fold in gently.

Heat oil around 365 degrees and drop in oil with a small cookie scooper being careful not to over crowd.  Once in the grease turn fritters over and flatten a little and fry until golden brown.  It takes about 35 seconds on each side with this size.  Adjust cooking time on size of the fritter and the temperature of the oil.

When golden brown, remove the fritters from the hot oil and lay on a sheet pan lined with either paper towels or a towel.

In a small bowl mix together 1 C. powdered sugar and 3 T. milk until smooth and creamy. 

When fritters have slightly cooled, dip in the glaze and place on a wire rack over a sheet pan to let the excess drip off.

ENJOY!  I know my boys sure did. 🙂

That’s I’s adamant sign for “eat.”  Haha!

I’m telling ya, eating something this appleiciously-yummy is SERIOUS business! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Apple Fritter Bites

  1. Those look really good, and congratulations on your deep frying success! However, if you ever wanted to make them again and make them healthier/easier, I’m sure you could bake them at 350 for 15 minutes or so. (But as we know, fried always seems to taste better. LOL!)

    • That’s a great idea, Crystal! Thanks for mentioning that one. I will have to give it a try the next time Tim says it’s okay for me to create any sweets for the family. Still feeling guilty for breaking the rule. Hehehe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

