Vacating the House

The term, “I don’t think I can take much more of this” is totally fitting for me at this point.  Our lives have been turned upside down this past week since we listed our house with a realtor and set aside our dreams to do a FSBO.  Listing with a realty means our house will get better circulation and therefore more prospective buyers.  Of course more prospective buyers means more showings.  Since we signed last Friday we have had a total of six separate showings and one open house.

On top of learning how to streamline our daily lives with the new obstacle of having a showcase-ready house with three active boys it seems we have also had a downpour of trials dropped in our laps.  In the last four days we have had one bad piece of news or event after the other starting with Thursday’s phone call from the Little Rock Zoo letting me know that the day we have our Buddy Talk outing scheduled for has been closed due to a football game and traffic.  Ugh!  Talk about panic having to try to scramble around contacting over 100 people to let them know the sudden change of plans.  I honestly felt deflated after re-counting those who could make the date change and realized that we had lost half our attendees…sigh…

On Friday about half a tree lining our driveway fell on top of our realtor’s car.  Praise the Lord no one was hurt, and the tree didn’t do any major damage to the vehicle.  It was totally unexpected and barely a breeze outside!

Saturday began with a text message to let us know that a family member had lost a greatly anticipated baby to miscarriage.

Sunday began with a trip to the ER with the entire family in tow because little I had gotten curious and decided to grab onto my hot curling iron by the barrel.  He was lucky and only had second degree burns on his thumb and index finger.

As the family sat down for lunch Sunday afternoon, I remarked to Tim that I didn’t know what else could possibly go wrong.  Then my phone buzzed letting me know I had a text message and I saw the words, “Our pastor turned in his resignation this morning.”  I think my heart cracked when I saw that message because it was sent from my dad.  Knowing what a sadness they are now facing and feeling that burden myself seemed to be the icing on the cake.

Monday morning…..After the storm I am thankful to say that God is still in COMPLETE control.  What peace to know that nothing is out of His control or takes Him by surprise.  We might not like the things we are dealt with in life, but our Father is “working all things together for His good.”  So whether it be the loss of a precious baby, a ruined tree and car, a burnt hand together with utter panic at the time, or re-arranged big plans, my God is working in and through our lives to bring glory to His name.  Instead of wallowing in self-pity and staying down, I want a heart full of thankfulness and joy.  Like being thankful for the wonderful friends I have in Janet, Vonda and Heather as well as my wonderful church family.  There was no greater encouragement than to hear “praying for you!” coming from the many friends God has blessed me with.

Life doesn’t appear as if it is going to lighten up on us anytime soon, but I plan on looking at the bright side and finding God’s perfect hand at work. 

So here are a few pictures of my “bright side” to things from this weekend.  These are a few pictures we took while vacating our home for an hour while someone came to look at the house. 🙂

One thought on “Vacating the House

  1. I hope it sells quickly, Amy. I vividly remember those days of trying to keep everything spotless so we could leave in a heartbeat. I’m sorry you weren’t able to do the FSBO…but if it makes you feel any better, although I think the real estate market is much worse here than in Ark, houses almost never sell by owner here. I see the signs out in the yards forever, and then finally they switch to a realtor sign and then at some point the house will sell (provided, of course, they’re not asking ridiculous amounts of money for this economy!).

    Thanks for your honest words about the difficulties. I appreciate so much when people share their struggles…when people don’t, I wonder if I am the only one who feels like things are falling apart. Great job taking pictures of the fun, sweet moments in the midst of the chaos, too!

Leave a Reply

