Gowing and Growing

We’ve been on the go so much these past few weeks that I’ve neglected posting our adventures.  Oops! 🙂  So forgive me if this post seems to be a collage of events from all the boys meshed together.

Our recent adventures include Tim’s nighttime ritual of working on “school” with E and I.  E has become better and better at his letter recognition, and I’ve caught him several times this past week actually reading a word on his own without any help.  He feels so big when he tells me a word he’s discovered all on his own.

We’ve also been working with I on his ability to recognize different shapes and colors.  One of his new favorite games is sorting the cutlery when I empty the dishwasher.  Haha!  He’s getting very good at putting each piece into the right shaped space.  The goal is to try to teach him something that is not only beneficial to developing his fine motor skills but is also teaching him a practical life-skill – correctly putting dishes away.

I have discovered a huge shortcoming on my end when it comes to helping I with his life-skills.  I don’t like cleaning up messes so it is easier for me to just do things for him instead of letting him learn through trial and error.  I tell myself that I am “helping” him, but really when it comes down to it, I am hindering him in the long run and only helping myself.  So instead of continuing with this pattern, I have made more of an effort to let I do things on his own.  He is smart enough to know that if he complains enough or holds out long enough, we will eventually do the task for him.  Smarty pants!!!  Instead of trying to feed himself, he slides his plate back and forth between me and Tim depending on whom he sees has a free hand to put food on his fork and get it into his mouth.  He’s all about working smarter not harder!  To break him of this habit, I’ve found that he will feed himself when I don’t sit down at the table.  I simply go about completing other tasks fully expecting him to pick up his fork/spoon.  Now that he doesn’t have anyone to do it for him, it makes him work harder.

I is also very good at eating all his little brother’s food as well as his own. 🙂  He never really enjoyed eating baby food when he was a baby, but now he acts like it is the best thing under the sun.  It’s a great opportunity to get him to start properly communicating his wants with us since he is very interested in the food.

The boys have all been having a grand time together as of late.  The more mobile A becomes, the more fun it seems they all have together.  There is a whole lot less crying and screaming going on now that they are able to play together.  Praise the Lord!!! 🙂

Nothing like a little iPad time with Papa when he arrives home from the office.

Trying to teach Isaac how to give a good back massage.  Haha!

Trying to get a good photo for A’s 10-month picture…  Still can’t believe he is going to be a year old shortly!  I think his big-boy haircut makes him look older and I’m just not ready for my baby to not be a baby anymore.  Sniff, sniff..

 There is no end to the fun with these three!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Gowing and Growing

Leave a Reply

