Chocolate Raspberry Cake

I’ve been drooling for a while now over the Pinterest pins of chocolate raspberry cakes with their fancy chocolate ganache and fresh berries.  (Homer Simpson sounds….) 🙂  I’ve yet to try my hand at a ganache, but I did score a great deal on fresh raspberries the other day while grocery shopping so I finally had the right motivation to try out one of those delicious recipes.  Yay!

I used my favorite homemade chocolate cake recipe which is so incredibly moist and delicious.  However, I have discovered the hard way that this batter is not meant to be used in cakes that have to be handled a lot.  I’m sure things would have come out differently had I used parchment paper but I’m always forgetting to write it on my grocery list and therefore never remember to purchase it while out grocery shopping. Ugh!  The bottom layer did NOT want to come out of the pan, so I ended up piecing chunks of it together.  The top layer did a little better, but let’s just say I scared the boys to the point of crying with all my pan banging in the kitchen trying to get that thing unstuck.  That was one way to relieve stress.  Haha!  Thankfully frosting works like glue so no one was the wiser about my horrible baking skills.

Anyhow, this was a really fun experiment for me and I learned a lot while putting the cake together.  It will be a while before I get another chance to make this one again since I am forbidden by my husband to bake any more sweets for a while (plus he doesn’t care for cakes with frosting). 🙂  I have two months to try to burn 15 pounds so I guess my chocolate raspberry cake became my “Farewell-to-Baking” cake.  What a way to start a diet! Hahaha!  I don’t think I’ll mind not having sweets around, but it is going to be hard to keep myself out of the kitchen.  To me baking is like art.  Only problem is that painting doesn’t make you put on x-number of pounds with each surge of inspiration like baking does. 🙂  Hmmm… Maybe this is a way I can talk Tim into letting me take some oil painting classes.  It’s been years since I’ve done any oil painting and would LOVE to refresh my memory and get a little “me” time in the process.

Start with the cake batter.

“Perfectly Chocolate” Chocolate Cake – by hersheys.com

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 C. sugar                                                        2 lg. eggs
  • 1 ¾ C. flour                                                      1 C. milk
  • ¾ C. cocoa powder                                         ½ C. vegetable oil
  • 1 ½ tsp. baking powder                                    2 tsp.  vanilla
  • 1 ½ tsp. baking soda                                        1 C. boiling water
  • 1 tsp. salt

 DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour two 9-inch baking pans (or line with parchment paper circles) and set aside.
  2. In the large bowl of a standing mixer, stir together sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add eggs, milk, oil and vanilla and beat for 2 minutes on medium speed. Stir in boiling water.
  3. Bake 30-35 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pans to wire racks.  Cool completely.  Yields: 10-12 servings

While the cake is baking, begin working on your raspberry jelly for the filling.  I used this recipe from over at myjuicecup.com.

Raspberry Jelly

  • 2 cups fresh or frozen raspberries
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 3 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon water

DIRECTIONS:  Heat and mash the raspberries and sugar over medium heat in a sauce pan. When bubbling, incorporate the lemon juice.  While it’s still hot, pour the mixture through a strainer into a second bowl separate out the seeds.  Pour the seedless raspberry mixture to the sauce pan and set heat to low. Combine the cornstarch and water and mix  into a smooth paste, then add it to the raspberry mixture. Cook over low heat until thickened and let it cool completely.

For the frosting, I used my mom’s butter cream recipe.

Butter Cream Frosting – by Toni Fuhrman

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3/4 C. margarine
  • 3/4 C. shortening
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla (only added 1/2 tsp.)
  • 6 C. powdered sugar
  • 3-4 T. raspberry jelly

DIRECTIONS:  Cream margarine and shortening together until creamy.  Add vanilla.  Slowly mix in powdered sugar.  Once all the sugar has been incorporated, begin adding in the raspberry jelly until you get the texture and consistency you desire.  The frosting should form peaks and fluff like whipped cream when mixed correctly.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Raspberry Cake

  1. Ok Amy, you may have outdone yourself with this one. It may very well be the most delicious thing I’ve ever eaten. And I REALLY REALLY love to eat so that’s saying something! As always, I want to be like you when I grow up! If I ever do!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

