Squash Casserole

Wow!  What a weekend, or more like, what a month!!!  This was my second trip up to Illinois with the boys in about four weeks.  Thankfully, Tim was with me on this latest trip so I didn’t have to drive the entire time and actually got to take a very short nap in the car on the return trip. Ahhh luxury!! 🙂

The trip was short and crammed with activity for the entire family.  One of my youngest cousins on my mom’s side of the family got married on Saturday and it was a real treat to be able to see several of my aunts and uncles not to mention my other cousins and their children.  We took a picture of all the great-grandchildren together at the wedding, and I had to laugh when I realized that this large group only made up HALF of the total number of great-grandchildren (32 in all!).  My mom is one of six children and my dad is one of five.  On either side of the family, we have LOTS of cousins and second cousins.  Love it!!!

So after a delightful time of visiting with my extended family, helping my parents and grandma out in their huge garden, canning with my mom and fellowshiping with my parents’ pastor and his family we packed up and drove the 8 hours home.

Everyone was hot and hungry when we arrived home around dinner time, but I knew I had my work cut out for me before I could sit down and rest.  There was no bread in the house for lunches the next day meaning I needed to make something for dinner so we could use the leftovers for lunch.  Thankfully my mom and dad had loaded us up with a bunch of garden veggies. Yay!!!!  So with some fresh zucchini, yellow squash and tomatoes ready to go, I stuck with “Meatless Monday” and got to work.

So in honor of my Aunt Chris (the lovely mother of the bride) and her family – here is the recipe for her delightful “Squash Casserole.”  By the way, Aunt Chris, after Tim tasted his first bite he exclaimed, “Wow!  This tastes great!”  Best reaction to date of a new recipe. 🙂

  • 6 C. squash chunks (4 medium)
  • Onion, diced
  • Chunked Velveeta
  • 1/4 C. sour cream
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • Sage
  • 1/3 of the seasoning packet and bread crumbs from a box of stuffing mix

DIRECTIONS:  Boil squash and onion for 20 minutes in a large saucepan.  Drain and put back into pan.  Add Velveeta, sour cream, salt and pepper.  Pour into a 9×9 pan or casserole dish.  Sprinkle with sage and 1/3 of the stuffing mix bread crumbs and seasoning.  Bake 20-30 minutes at 350 degrees.

Boil 6 cups squash chunks (or diced) with diced onion for 20 minutes.  [I didn’t have enough squash so I threw in some zucchini as well.  Yumm-O!]

Drain and place back inside pan.

Add chunked Velveeta, 1/4 cup sour cream (or plain Greek yogurt), salt and pepper.

Pour into a greased 9×9 pan or casserole dish.  Sprinkle with sage and 1/3 of the seasoning packet and bread crumbs from a box of stuffing mix.  Bake 20-30 minutes at 350 degrees.

Should be nicely browned on top and bubbly in the middle when done cooking.

I think the sage used in this recipe is WONDERFUL!!  The texture of the vegetables makes you think you are eating a hashbrown casserole but the flavor from the stuffing mix and sage really knock it out of the ballpark.

2 thoughts on “Squash Casserole

Leave a Reply

