Honey Nut Granola – The End of the Granola Quest!

Okay, so after making several experimental batches of granola bars using different recipes from other blogs, I finally got my hands on my mom’s old recipe.  Hallelujah, my granola search has now come to a happy ending!!! 🙂  I don’t know what it is about this recipe, but it is perfect in every way no matter what kind of ingredient tweaking you incorporate.  It is the perfect blend of sweetness and soft, chewy granola that doesn’t fall apart when you pick it up to take a bite.  Hands down the BEST!!  Thanks, Mom!!!!! 🙂

For this debut batch, I left out the nuts and wheat germ and added ground Flax Seed and mini M&Ms along with a light sprinkling of shaved coconut on one half.  (I was curious what the coconut would do to the flavor.)

These granola bars are so EASY to throw together and are now my family’s favorite treat.  Try them yourself.  I know you’ll love them too! 🙂

Honey Nut Granola – by Toni Fuhrman

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 1/2 C. oatmeal
  • 1/2 C. brown sugar
  • 1/2 C. chopped walnuts
  • 1/3 C. melted butter or margarine
  • 1/2 C. raisins or chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/4 C. wheat germ
  • 1/3 C. honey

DIRECTIONS:  Combine all dry ingredients and melted butter in a large bowl.  Mix well.  Add honey and vanilla last.  Pat down in a lightly greased 9×13 pan and bake at 325 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

Here’s what you need to mix up these delightful treats.

Combine all the dry ingredients with the melted butter.  Mix well.

Add honey and vanilla last and mix until completely moistened.

Gently pat down in a lightly greased 9×13 pan and bake at 325 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

Let cool then slice and enjoy!  You can see here just how soft and yummy they look after baking.

Elijah enjoying his after-lunch treat.  He was so happy to get to eat one since he helped make this first batch.

5 thoughts on “Honey Nut Granola – The End of the Granola Quest!

  1. OK, I’m really excited that you left out the walnuts and wheat germ because that’s exactly what I would need to do. Do you think the coconut is necessary then? (That would be fine for us). I NEED to make some granola bars because we go through way too many boxes of that kind of thing for quick breakfasts.

  2. I gave this a try and the flavor was great. My only problem was that they were really sticky yet wouldn’t stay together as a bar. Could it be I need to cook it longer?

Leave a Reply

