Honey Whole Wheat Bread

This was my first experiment using wheat flour all thanks to my mom.  I wanted to purchase a 5-pound bag at the Amish store, but my mom convinced me not to.  She said that the wheat flour you purchase off the store shelf has been sitting too long and the gluten has gone flat.  The best wheat flour to use in baking bread is freshly milled grain.

So, before I left to drive back to Arkansas, my mom pulled out her grain mill and filled up two gallon-sized zipper bags for me to take home and put inside my freezer.  (The freezer helps prolong the life of the gluten.)  After working with the dough, baking and then tasting this wonderful bread, I am now searching online for a reasonably priced grain mill of my own so I can begin grinding my own flour on a needed basis.  I was happy to learn that the KitchenAid mixer has a grain mill attachment….Hmmmm….I’ll be keeping my eyes open for a good deal! 🙂

Here’s the recipe I adapted and tweaked to my liking…

Honey Whole Wheat Bread

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 1/4 tsp. dry active yeast (or 1 envelope yeast)
  • 2 C. warm water
  • 1/4 C. butter, softened
  • 1/2 C. honey
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 3 1/2 C. whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 C. white flour

DIRECTIONS:  Dissolve yeast in warm water.  In a large bowl, combine butter, honey and salt and mix well.  Add yeast mixture and then gradually add flours.  Turn onto floured surface and knead until smooth.  Place in greased bowl and let rise until doubled (approx. 1 hour).  Punch down and let rest for a few minutes.  Divide dough into two parts and shape into loaves.  Place in greased pans and let rise for about an hour.  Bake at 375 degrees for 35-40 minutes.

Dissolve yeast in warm water.  In a large bowl, combine butter, honey and salt and mix well.

Add yeast mixture and then gradually add flours.

Turn out onto floured surface and knead until smooth.

Place in a greased bowl and let rise until double in size.

Punch down and let rest for a few minutes before dividing into two parts.

Shape into two loaves.  I found that rolling mine up like a cinnamon roll and pinching the ends works well at keeping the shape better during baking.

Place in greased pans and let rise for about an hour.

Bake at 375 degrees for 35-40 minutes.

Remove from pans and let cool on a wire rack before serving.

Enjoy the nice soft insides with a hint of sweetness from the honey.  My pickiest eater scarfed down a whole piece and came back asking for more!!!  Wow!!!  This recipe is nothing like some homemade wheat breads I’ve tried that taste and feel like bricks.  My siblings and I still like to tease our mom about her “indestructible wheat bread!”  You could literally bang it on the edge of the table and not a crumb would fall off.  Hahaha!  Those were always sandwiches that really filled you up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

