Free Fun Friday

Happy National Doughnut Day!  Curious how many people took advantage of free doughnuts at Krispy Kreme on this fabulous Friday?  I know the boys and I took advantage of the great offer.  Very rarely do we get the chance to indulge in a melt-in-your-mouth-cream-filled doughnut from our favorite doughnut shop.  It worked out great that the boys were up and ready to go early this morning so we could stop by our local Krispy Kreme store and receive a free doughnut for each of us.  Although our doughnuts were all free, I splurged on the drink and picked up a doughnut for Tim. (I’m a nice wife!)  Hahaha!

After eating his doughnut, Eli excitedly went over to watch how the food was made.  Don’t know why but starring at all those yummy calories going down that conveyor belt just made me feel fatter.  Hahaha!

I gave Eli all my leftover change so he could put it inside the Salvation Army bucket at the front door.  I was able to explain to him that back in 1938 this recognized day was started by the Salvation Army to raise money to help those suffering in the Great Depression and to honor the Salvation Army women who served doughnuts to the soldiers during World War I.

Then we stopped at the local Wal-Mart to find some sandals for the two older boys.  Eli just got new sandals the end of April and his toes are already poking through the tips.  Ugh!  It would have been much more convenient to have a growth spurt at the end of summer when I could switch out everything for fall/winter shoes and clothes.  Thankfully I found another pair of sandals and rubber boots for Elijah and then a pair of sandals for Isaac to wear in the water since he can’t exactly were his braces and tennis shoes.

Finishing up at the store, we headed out to meet our friends at the new War Memorial Park across from the Little Rock Zoo.  Why bother paying for a pool pass when you can let your kids run around in the water for FREE?!?!?!  Plus I loved the fact that I didn’t have to worry about any of the kids slipping off and drowning.  It can be quite intimidating for me to handle all three boys on my own when around any type of pool.  During times like that, I really wish I had octopus arms.  I know I’d get weird looks, but at least I could ensure all my boys stayed safe. 🙂

The park was perfect with cushy playground mats to run around on while the water came shooting up from the ground and outside of rocks.  There were caves and tunnels with waterfalls along with slides, swings, rope climbing, etc.  Lots to do out there!  It was a great morning/afternoon.  It would have been absolutely perfect had the weather not all of a sudden turned cool.  The sun was nice and hot but the breeze by itself could give you goose bumps.  Isaac isn’t really a fan of the water to begin with so with the added cool breeze, there was no convincing him to play in the sprinklers.  He was happy to sit on the bench next to me and watch.  Every time all the sprinklers would start to spray, he would start waving his arms and yelling excitedly at Eli who was running back and forth amidst the liquid canopy.

Leave a Reply

