Chocolate Chip Coconut Cookies

I just have to say, I LOVE these cookies!!!!  Chocolate chip cookies are always a favorite in this house, but when I started making this new recipe with the added lovely ingredient of coconut, oh my, WOW!

Since they are such a delightful treat to eat and I have absolutely NO will power to resist stuffing one in my mouth every time I just happen to walk by the counter where a batch is cooling, I decided to try something different today.  Today I made my freezer be my self-discipline.  One batch makes 48 cookies that just HAVE to be eaten in less than a week otherwise you have to throw them away.  Sniff, sniff… You just CAN’T throw these cookies away! 

Well, instead of using that as my excuse to down as many as my belly can humanly hold, I only baked one dozen and froze the rest.  This will help cut down on the need to eat every single cookie in site.  Plus it saves on those last-minute cookie splurges at the store when I need to have a handy dessert for an event and I don’t have time to mess around with baking an entire batch at that moment.  I love the fact that I can now pull out however many I need so there are no more tempting leftovers. 🙂

Another great thing about freezing cookie dough is that it makes wonderful gifts for any occasion.  I think I am going to incorporate this idea into my Christmas baking this year because it is such a simple yet extremely practical idea.  So you don’t add more sugar to your friends’ or families’ plates during the holiday, give them the cookie dough frozen so they can bake at a later time when they are in need of a sweet treat.  They will thank you for it down the road!  Plus you won’t be spending as much time slaving over a hot stove during the holiday season. 🙂  That’s always a plus in my book!!

Cream 2 sticks butter (at room temperature) with 1/2 C. sugar and 1 1/2 C. brown sugar until light and fluffy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Add 2 eggs one and at a time ensuring that each eggs in incorporated before adding the next.  Next add in 2 tsp. vanilla.

 

 

 

 

 

Combine 3 C. flour, 1 1/2 tsp. baking soda, and 3/4 tsp. salt in a separate bowl and whisk to combine.

 

 

 

 

 

 

With the mixer on low, slowly add in the flour.  Mix until just combined, taking care not to over mix.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Using a spatula, fold in 1 pkg. chocolate chips and 3 C. coconut.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Drop by the teaspoon full onto a well-greased cookie sheet or parchment paper.  Bake at 350 degrees for 11-13 minutes.  They should be lightly golden on the outside but still look gooey on the inside.

 

 

 

 

 

Remove from pan and cool on a wire rack.

 

 

 

 

 

 

If freezing dough, drop spoonfulls of dough close together on a greased cookie sheet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover and place inside freezer for approximately 2 hours or until completely solid.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Store frozen dough balls inside a freezer zipper bag inside the freezer until ready to bake.

 

 

 

 

 

 

To give as a gift, package the frozen dough balls in a sealed container or zipper bag inside a decorative bag or box with the instructions written on a tag.

Frozen cookies should be removed from the freezer and placed on a greased cookie sheet to rest for 2-3 minutes.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees and bake cookies for approx. 14-16 minutes.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

