BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwiches & Coleslaw

I still had two 3-pound pork loins inside the freezer from the cut of meat I had picked up at Sam’s Club last month for a great price.  Still really excited about the fact that I was able to score 9 pounds of great meat for the price of 1 tender loin sold at a grocery store.  The first cut I used as a pork roast and cooked inside the Dutch oven for a couple of hours.  The roast turned out GREAT thanks to a recipe I found on Paula Deen’s website for a garlic/herb pork roast.

This time around I wanted to do something different instead of just making another roast.  So after thawing out my meat overnight, I threw the whole thing inside the crockpot for a summer-themed meal.  To go along with the BBQ pulled pork, I made homemade hamburger buns, corn on the cobb and tried out a new recipe for homemade coleslaw.  Not bad having a completely home cooked meal even though we didn’t get home from Isaac’s therapy until a little after 4 p.m.  (Thankful for my 10-year-old crockpot which was given to me as a college graduation gift.) 🙂

You will need:

  • 1 (3 lb.) boneless pork shoulder
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 C. chicken broth or water
  • 2 C. barbecue sauce
  • 2 T. mustard
  • 2 T. honey
  • 1 T. soy sauce
  • salt & pepper

 

 

Place your chopped onion into the bottom of the crockpot. (I used some that I had chopped up and froze a while back when the onions were on sale.)

 

 

 

 

 

That extra layer of fat has to come off before you place inside the crockpot.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Once you’ve trimmed off all the extra fat, it is ready to cook.  Place on top of onions inside the crockpot and cover with either the broth or water.  Cover and cook on low for about 8 hours.

When cool enough to handle, pull meat into thin shreds.  Skim excess fat from liquid in the crockpot.  Return pulled pork to the crockpot.

 

 

 

Mix together barbecue sauce, mustard, honey and soy sauce then stir into pulled pork.  Season with salt and pepper.  Cook for 1 hour longer on low.

 

 

 

 

 

While this is cooking the final hour, you can go ahead and prepare your homemade hamburger buns to go with the BBQ pork. 🙂

The end result!

I was a little discouraged because my hamburger buns didn’t quite turn out perfect this time around.  Might have had something to do with the fact that I was rushed and was starting to experience another bout of hypoglycemia so my brain was in a fog.

All in all, Tim was happy with the dinner and requested that I put it on my “keep” recipe list.  Yay! 🙂  Click the link for Paula Deen’s The Lady’s Coleslaw.  It was VERY tasty!

This one dish made enough for four meals!  I placed enough of the BBQ pulled pork inside freezer Ziploc bags for two meals and then the rest inside the refrigerator to use with the leftover hamburger buns in the next couple days.

One thought on “BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwiches & Coleslaw

Leave a Reply

