Homemade Drano

I’ve been putting off picking up some Drano at the store these past few weeks because I don’t want to spend the money on something that smells absolutely horrendous and is so expensive.  Of course, this means that I had to swallow my guilt every time Tim would take a shower and I could hear the moans of disgust along with sounds of sloshing.  Ugh!

I caved in today thinking I would actually make a special trip to the store and have the shower drain all fixed before Tim got home from work.  But before I packed up all the kids and grabbed my wallet, I thought about seeing if I could find a homemade recipe online.  To my complete joy, I found a simple one that had rave reviews.  Oh happy day!!!!

While the littles were down for an afternoon nap and Eli was content watching a special DVD, I tackled the…DRAIN.. (eek!, eek!, eek!)

Drain De-Clogger Recipe:

  • 1/2 C. baking soda
  • 1/2 C. vinegar
  • 1 gallon boiling water

Carefully siphon all the baking soda down the drain.  Pour in 1/2  of the vinegar, covering the hole so the fizz is forced down, not up (omit this for toilet, please!).  Add the second half of the vinegar, following the same procedure.  Allow to sit for 15 minutes or so, and then flush with an entire gallon of boiling water.

It was eating away at some nasty stuff inside the drain the evidence of which is shown floating around in this picture.  Blah!  After the second application, I heard a sort of popping noise and saw bubbles float to the top of the opening before everything kind of got sucked down.  I felt all giddy inside not because of chemical fumes but from feeling like a mad scientist getting to perform some freaky experiment.  It’s not every day that I am allowed to let the kid inside me loose.  This would have to rank up there with my memories of days gone by when I would make mud pies behind the lilac bush in front of my parents’ home in Chicago.

Rinsed everything down with the boiling water thanks to my handy-dandy hot pot.  Hee hee! 🙂  Not bad getting a wonderfully clean drain without the terrible smells and for FREE!!!!  Oh yeah – happy dance, happy dance… 🙂

4 thoughts on “Homemade Drano

  1. Yep, I need to try this. Heaven knows that tub drain needs something! I always try to catch my hair, but whoever lived here before wasn’t so careful, apparently. 😦

    • Hope it works, Crystal! Some of the reviews stated that for really tough drains with hair cloggs, they had to repeat the whole process a couple of times. However, in the end they said it cleared out the blockage.

Leave a Reply

