Strawberry Yogurt Muffins

I got the idea for using yogurt in a muffin mix when I found a recipe from allrecipes.com for a fruit and yogurt muffin.  I specifically wanted to try making a muffin batter with the homemade yogurt as well as incorporating some of the pureed fruit I have in my freezer.

After searching around for a while, I found a recipe for Blueberry Buttermilk Muffins by www.epicurious.com.  I figured I could substitute the buttermilk for yogurt and the oil for fruit puree.

Mixed the liquid and dry ingredients in two separate bowls.  I did add a little more than 1/2 C.strawberry puree and even a dash of oil just in case it needed something to help bind it all together.

Chopped up 1 C. of fresh strawberries and added it to the batter.

Instead of using cupcake liners, I just sprayed the cups really, REALLY good with non-stick cooking spray.  I also filled them all the way up instead of the 3/4 which you normally would do with muffins.

I let them cool a few minutes before turning them out onto a wire rack to finish cooling completely.

And here’s the finished product!  Yay!  For making a healthy muffin with as little saturated fat as possible, these turned out GREAT.  I am very pleased with the texture and taste.  I think the strawberry puree perfectly balanced the sweetness of the sugar.

Here’s the original recipe if you’d like to give it a whirl.  There are so many ways to play around with this one.  Don’t forget if you don’t want to use yogurt in place of the buttermilk, you can make your own buttermilk by combining 1 T. lemon juice + 1 C. milk.

Blueberry Buttermilk Muffins – by www.epicuriuos.com

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 C. flour
  • 1 C. buttermilk
  • 1 C. blueberries
  • 1/2 C. sugar
  • 1/2 C. vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt

DIRECTIONS:  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Combine all the dry ingredients in one bowl.  Whisk together buttermilk, vegetable oil, egg, and vanilla in another bowl.  Add buttermilk mixture into dry ingredients and stir till just combined.  Fold in blueberries.  Divide batter among muffin cups and bake for 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.  Yield:  12 muffins.

One thought on “Strawberry Yogurt Muffins

Leave a Reply

