The Quaker Quest Continues…

I’ve tried one chewy granola bar recipe this week, but I wanted to see if there was something even better available.  The second recipe I found online was a no-bake.  Even though I didn’t have to bake this batch, it seemed to take a little longer because I had to “make” one of the needed ingredients which itself needed to be baked. (shrug shoulders)

The first step was to make “Plain Granola.”  I found this website for the chewy no-bake recipe (http://backtothecuttingboard.com/dessert/no-bake-chewy-granola-bars/) and then followed the link to http://fakeginger.com/2010/04/07/applesauce-granola/ for the basic recipe to make the plain granola.  The adaptions to the applesauce granola is increase the oats to 3 cups and omit the nuts, seeds, raisins and brown sugar.  You then get “plain” granola to use in the chewy no-bake recipe. 🙂

To make the plain granola I first heated 1/2 C. unsweetened applesauce, 1 T. honey and 1 T. oil in a small saucepan just until warm.

 

 

 

 

 

In a large bowl, I combined 3 C. oats, 1 tsp. cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp. salt.

 

 

 

 

 

Poured the heated applesauce mixture over the dry ingredients and blended until oats were well coated.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The original recipe said to bake the mixture in a 9×13 pan for 45-50 minutes turning the mixture every 10 minutes, until the granola was a deep brown.  I used a cookie sheet and spread it out thinner so it took less time to bake.  (Who wants to keep running back to the oven every ten minutes to turn granola?  Come on, I’ve got KIDS!!!)  I believe it baked for 30 minutes and I turned it 3 times.  This is the color of the granola when cooked.

 

 

 

Now I was able to start on the actual chewy granola bars!  Hahaha!

Mixed  4 T. melted butter, 1/4 C. packed brown sugar, and 1/4 C. honey.

 

 

 

 

Added in 2 C. plain granola and 1 C. Rice Krispie cereal.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now according to the recipe, at this point you can create different types of granola bars by changing out the final ingredients.

  • Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip – 1/4 C. peanut butter chips, 1/4 C. chocolate chips
  • Cinnamon Raisin – 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 C. raisins

I went with the cinnamon raisin version this time since the last batch of granola bars had been peanut butter and chocolate chips.  I also added in a few mini cinnamon chips to give it an extra kick.

 

 

 

 

 

Pressed down firmly into a 2.2 quart Pyrex dish and covered with plastic wrap before placing inside the refrigerator for 20 minutes.

And the final result…..

 

 

 

 

I ended up with an absolutely delicious CEREAL but no granola bars.  Oh well, better luck next time I guess.  I think I might have accidentally used margarine instead of butter and that could be the deciding factor in the bars not firming up like they should have.  But it really is a yummy batch of granola.

For taste, I rate this recipe far above the first batch I tried.  However, in texture, I would rate this one at the bottom.  It appears my quest has not yet come to an end.

If nothing else, I’ve got a great recipe for some homemade granola cereal to feed the family instead of having to buy any.  It would probably stretch even farther if I mixed it with a box of plain Corn Flakes to make a homemade version of Honey Bunches of Oats. 🙂  Hmmm….

Eli and Isaac both inhaled their granola snacks today.  I just scooped some into bowls and served with a little milk poured over the mix.  I swear I could eat the whole bowl in one sitting it tastes so good!

Leave a Reply

