PW’s Pot Roast

I’ve heard so many wonderful reviews about this dish that I couldn’t wait to give it a try.  I’ve made pot roast before trying different methods to get the perfect texture and taste, so it wasn’t like this was my first ever attempt at the dish.

A few of my favorite aspects of this recipe would include browning the veggies instead of just dumping them into the pot before placing in the oven, seasoning the meat and searing all sides, and deglazing the pan to scrape up all the yummy pieces.  The kitchen smelled sooooo good after doing all of these extra never-done-by-me-before steps!

Here’s what it all looked like when ready to cook in the oven.

And here’s what it looked like after cooking for three hours.

I was so excited to be able to serve this to the family and couldn’t wait for Tim’s reaction.  However, even though the dish smelled fantastic, it really didn’t have as much flavor as I was hoping for.  Tim’s comment was, “Tastes the same as always.”  Ugh, after all that extra work!  My high hopes of creating a dish that would have him shouting “Hallelujah!” at the top of his lungs after taking his first bite were sadly squashed….sigh…

I was probably most disappointed with the fact that I had spent extra money on purchasing the needed spices because I don’t typically cook with them (shows you how non-gourmet my cooking actually is) and on the beef broth.  Maybe the roast would have tasted better had I used beef instead of deer, but again, I was trying to be cost-conscious and use the ingredients we have on hand.

Although it didn’t turn out the way I had hoped it would, I believe the basic prepping technique I learned with this recipe will come in handy for the future.  I’m not going to give up on trying to create the perfect pot roast!

Here’s the link to the recipe.  (No time to re-type since I have screaming children hanging on my legs right now!) http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2011/09/2008_the_year_of_the_pot_roast/

 

Leave a Reply

