Donut Disaster!

Eli begged me to make donuts for him after we watched a YouTube video showing the process.  It looked simple enough, and I loved the recipe since it called for sour cream and buttermilk.  I thought it would be a great experiment to substitute those two ingredients with some homemade yogurt and homemade buttermilk.

Everything went along smoothly…until the end.  I had the hardest time handling the dough!  It took me  forever  to cut out shapes in order to fry.  However, after I was able to get them into the oil, it appeared that all would turn out well in the end.  WRONG!!!

I bit into a donut to do a taste test and was absolutely grossed out.  Raw dough!!!  Blah!  So in the end, I only accomplished filling up my trash can with the raw donuts, the sink with dirty dishes and the house with a burnt oil smell that is STILL lingering the next day.  I don’t know if I really want to attempt making donuts again any time soon, but maybe it would have been different had I actually had a donut cutter to use so there would have been less insides to cook with each donut and a cooking thermometer to know when the oil was the right temp….sigh.  Hope you enjoy my cooking failure.  Live and learn, live and learn! 🙂

Leave a Reply

