Salisbury Steak

As the saying goes, “Necessity: the mother of all inventions,” well that’s what my dinner plans turned into.  I usually just cook up a few hamburger patties and top with gravy and just call it Salisbury Steak, but tonight I had to change plans because I forgot I had already used up the last of the meat a while ago.  Oops!

This just gave me the necessary kick in the rump to try something new and to put forth a little extra time and effort trying to make the meal from what I had on hand as well as cost-effective as possible.

A few changes off the top would be that I substituted 1 1/2 pounds of ground beef for 2 pounds deer burger, substituted condensed French onion soup for condensed cream of mushroom soup, and substituted the recipe gravy for brown gravy.  (I didn’t have any Worcestershire sauce in the house!) 🙂

Because of the extra 1/2 pound of meat, I added an extra 1/4 C. breadcrumbs.

Oh, I also added 1/4 C. finely chopped onion.

 

After mixing everything together in a large bowl, form into six patties.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Two great things about this… One, cooking on the griddle instead of a pan means that I can drain the fat away from the meat by placing two small bowls under the back legs of the griddle.  Two, the patties made with deer meat contain less fat.  Much healthier!!

 

 

 

 

I would have preferred to serve green veggies with this meal since we had real mashed potatoes as the other side dish, but Tim loves corn with this combination. 🙂  (Anything to please my hubby!)

 

 

 

 

 

For dessert I made some chocolate chip muffins and topped them with Nutella instead of frosting.  Yumm-O!!!  Talk about quick, easy and DELICIOUS.

 

 

 

 

 

Proof that someone finished all his food and got to enjoy a yummy cupcake for his dessert. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

Overall review on this recipe was that it was very tasty.  The only negative feedback was that the herbs used in my homemade Italian breadcrumbs came out a little too strong.  Next time, I will make this dish using just some plain toasted breadcrumbs.  Although it took a little extra time putting together, it was well worth the effort.  Two thumbs up for this version of Salisbury Steak compared to my old hamburger patty version. 🙂

Salisbury Steak – by allrecipes.com

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 can condensed French onion soup, divided
  • 1 1/2 pounds ground beef
  • 1/2 C. dry breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. ground black pepper
  • 1 T. all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 C. ketchup
  • 1/4 C. water
  • 1 T. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/2 tsp. powdered mustard

DIRECTIONS:  IN a large bowl, mix 1/3 C. condensed French onion soup, ground beef, breadcrumbs, egg, salt and black pepper.  Shape into 6 patties.  In a large skillet over medium-high heat, brown patties.  Drain fat.  IN a small bowl, blend flour and remaining soup until smooth.  Mix in ketchup, water, Worcestershire sauce, and mustard.  Add to skillet.  Cover; cook for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Yield: 6 servings.

Leave a Reply

