Famous Restaurant Alfredo Sauce – with a twist!

Today was a very busy day for the Kinnard family.  While Tim tackled some home improvement projects in order to get the house ready to put on the market in a few months I had all three boys with me helping my mother-in-law organize and clean out her house.

This is the second time I’ve been asked by someone to help organize and purge rooms in their homes.  Honestly, I love doing it!!!  I’m extremely proud of Tim’s mom for wanting to purge unnecessary clutter and to simplify life.  There’s just something about coming into a well-organized and clean home that makes you feel physically and mentally refreshed.  Since I had all three boys with me on this first day, we weren’t able to accomplish a ton, but both my mother-in-law and I felt we had made a reasonable dent. Again, I can’t say enough of how proud I am of my MIL!  Learning to live with less is a lesson we all struggle with in some way or another.

The boys enjoying a chance to play with “Nana’s” toys.

Have I mentioned what a camera hog this little guy is?!?!?

Glad everyone had a good day even with all the hard work.  By the way, we will be having a HUGE yard sale in the next few months.  I’ll let you know when so you can mark your calendars.  Hehe 🙂

After arriving home and getting everyone down for naps (except for Eli who insisted he was a big boy and needed to be outside helping Papa hammer boards), I ran to the store to pick up some whole milk for another batch of yogurt.  I placed the last of the yogurt inside the colander to strain so I could use the yo-cheese instead of cream cheese in the alfredo sauce.

Instead of using half-and-half I used evaporated milk and replaced the cream cheese with yo-cheese (thickened yogurt).  I also added some chicken and cooked broccoli on the side. 

Here are all the ingredients used to make the dish.

I think the next time I make this dish, I’ll just bake a few chicken breasts to serve on the side next to the fettuccine.  I added too much chicken and ended up having to add more milk and yo-cheese to the mix. 

I also added some Parmesan cheese (about 5T.) to the mix for a little added flavor since I had left out the cream cheese.

So even though it didn’t turn out looking very pretty this first time around, I’m quite pleased with how it tasted especially since I substituted two higher-in-fat ingredients for lower-fat ingredients, some of which were homemade. 🙂  Tim helped himself to a huge second portion just to give you an idea of how well he like the end result.

I think I will keep this recipe in my permanent binder since it is one that can be easily adapted with different ingredients and still taste good.  Also love the fact that it only takes about 15 minutes to cook.  Always a plus in my book!!!

Famous Restaurant Alfredo Sauce – by allrecipes.com

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 (16 oz.) package fettuccine pasta
  • 1/2 C. butter
  • 3/4 C. cream cheese
  • 3/4 C. half-and-half
  • Pinch of garlic salt (or to taste)
  • Lemon pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS:  Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil.   Add pasta and cook for 8-10 minutes of until al dente; drain.  Combine the butter, cream cheese, and half-and-half in a saucepan.  Season with garlic salt and lemon pepper to taste.  Bring to a low boil over medium-low heat.  Cook, stirring constantly, until thickened slightly.  Serve over pasta.  Yield: 4 servings.

Leave a Reply

