Homemade Yogurt – $$ Saver

I am sooo excited about this new kitchen experiment!!!  After realizing that it is not only healthier but less expensive to use plain yogurt instead of sour cream in cooking, I started investigating the process of actually making my own yogurt.  The process alone is so easy and only takes up three chunks of time throughout the day (2 1/2 hours, 3 hours, 8 hours).  I’m just really excited to now be able to eliminate two items off my monthly grocery list – sour cream AND yogurt.  Isaac loves yogurt and typically consumes about 6-12 oz. a day.  I could easily spend around $20/month on flavored yogurt.  However, now I can make it from scratch for a fraction of the price and still have yummy flavored yogurt.

Here’s what you’ll need to get started:

  • 8 C. (half-gallon) of whole milk – pasteurized and homogenized is fine, but do NOT use ultra-pasteurized. [I just used regular 2% because it’s what I had in the house.]
  • 1/2 C. store-bought natural, live/active culture plain yogurt (you need to have a starter. Once you have made your own, you can use that as a starter.)
  • 1/2 C. powdered milk
  • Thick towel
  • Slow cooker

DIRECTIONS:

Pour 8 C. milk into the slow cooker and heat on low setting for 2 1/2 hours.

Unplug the crockpot, leave the cover on, and let sit for 3 hours.

After 3 hours have passed, scoop out 2 C. of the warm milk and pour into a bowl. Whisk in 1/2 C. live/active culture plain yogurt along with the 1/2 C. powdered milk.  After combined, dump back into the crockpot and stir to combine with the rest of the milk.

 

Replace lid (leaving unplugged!) and wrap a heavy bath towel all the way around the crockpot for insulation.

Let this sit for 8 hours.

After 8 hours, store in containers in the refrigerator for 7-10 days.  Set aside 1/2 C. in a separate container to use as your starter for your next batch of yogurt.

Blend with your favorite fruits or honey!

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Homemade Yogurt – $$ Saver

  1. I love doing this! You can also make it “vanilla” by adding vanilla extract and 1/2 to 3/4 cup of honey when you add in your starter. I like to do it that way for the kids, though these days I prefer mine to be plain with just a leeeetle Maple Syrup on top! 🙂 So glad it turned out well for you! Yay for yogurt!

  2. Oh, and you can also thicken it by straining in a large mesh strainer over a bowl w/ a linen napkin/towel for thicker “Greek” style yogurt and if you keep straining you can make yo-cheese which is a ton cheaper and just as yummy as cream cheese. I like to add in some onion powder and stuff to make it flavored for crackers and such. So many options! 😉

    • You need to send me a picture of how you do this. (I need all the visual help I can get!) I’m very interested in trying the thicker yogurt and especially the yo-cheese. It would be wonderful to eliminate the need for purchasing cream cheese!

Leave a Reply

