Sandwich Bread

I was finally able to bake a loaf of sandwich bread correctly!  Yay for me!!! 🙂  I attempted this same recipe just a few days ago and ended up with some kind of alien bread.  It was even a bit greyish looking.  Yuk!  Talk about feeling like an utter culinary failure.  I was extremely disgusted with myself at not being able to get this recipe down and was tempted to not even try again….BUT, I remembered that I was supposed to be enjoying my failures and learning from them.  (I needed a big ole’ kick in the rump to get my attitude adjusted and my mind back on track.

Today I attempted the recipe again only this time really paying attention to every detail of the instructions.

I believe my last attempts failed because I was so impatient with this first step.  Whatever you do, do NOT skip over the 10 minute resting time!  Go check your Facebook or email account so you are not tempted to mess with the mixture before it’s done dissolving.

 

 

 

 

I also gave up on trying to mix this recipe in my KitchenAid.  For some reason being able to handle the dough and follow each step by sight and feel helped get it right.  When I tried it in the mixer, it was too easy to just assume that the dough was finished mixing/kneading just by sight alone.

 

 

 

After mixing by hand until the dough formed a lumpy ball.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The dough after kneading by hand for 3-5 minutes.  I really didn’t need to add any extra flour since it wasn’t sticking very much.

 

 

 

 

 

Placed in a greased ball turning over to coat both sides and leaving seam-side down.  Then covered with a towel and let rise for an hour on top of the stove which was already preheating.

 

 

 

 

This is what a good dough should look like after rising!!  About time!  None of the other batches turned out this good by this step.  You’ll know if you are going to end up with a good loaf of bread based upon how your dough looks at this stage.

 

 

 

 

I admit it, I am the world’s worst dough divider.  I seem to always end up with odd portioned dough balls making for some odd portioned loaves.  Hahaha!  Oh well, just have to keep trying I guess.  I also think that I need to get another glass bread pan since that one always seems to bake better and retain a better loaf shape than the metal one.

 

 

 

My bread loaves after letting set for five minutes after pulling out of the oven then cooling completely on a wire rack.

 

 

 

 

 

They REALLY puffed up this time!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Perfect insides and perfect-sized sandwich bread.  Yay, yay, yay!!!

 

 

 

 

 

If I can keep this up, I really won’t have to purchase any store-bought bread at all!

 

 

 

 

 

 

I hope that my own failed attempts will help you learn what NOT to do when attempting to make this delicious bread.  At this point if I was Julia Child I would say “Bon appetit” but seeing that I’m just Amy Kinnard I will say, “Chow down!”

Sandwich Bread – by thehungrymouse.com

 INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 C. lukewarm water               
  • 2 T. sugar                                
  • 1 T. yeast                                
  • 2 T. butter, softened
  • 5 ½ C. flour
  • 1 T. salt

DIRECTIONS:  In a large bowl whisk water and sugar. Add yeast and whisk again. Let sit for about 10 minutes. Add butter, flour, and salt to yeast mixture. Mix well to combine ingredients. Knead for 3-5 minutes until the dough forms a smooth, elastic ball. Form into a ball and put in a large, lightly greased bowl. Flip the dough ball to grease all sides. Cover bowl with plastic wrap. Place in a warm place and let rise about an hour (or until doubled in size). Punch down the dough after it has risen. Knead a few times and form into a neat ball. It should be smooth and a bit tacky. Lightly flour a dough board and set ball on it. Divide dough ball into two sections with knife. Knead each half a few times and form into two loaves. Lightly grease two one-pound loaf pans. Place a loaf into each pan. Let rise, uncovered, about an hour. Bake loaves 35-40 minutes at 350 F. When finished, the loaves will be a light brown. Let the loaves cool about 5 minutes in the pans then let them finish cooling on a wire rack or on the counter. Will keep about 4 days on the counter tightly wrapped.

.

12 thoughts on “Sandwich Bread

  1. Looks nice! My mom has also taught me that you can tell a lot by how well the yeast fluffs up when you’re proofing it. If it doesn’t get poofy you need to throw it out and re-proof (water may have been too warm or cool, for example); otherwise your bread won’t rise. You may already know that but I thought of it since you mentioned gauging how good the bread would be by the appearance of the dough.

    That said, I’ve never made this exact type of bread. I do whole wheat, but the steps look very similar (my recipe has more sitting and rising periods, though).

    It’s fun following the adventures of the Kinnard Bakery! Where you find all that time, I have no idea! 🙂

    • It works out well with the boys because baking bread is done in stages. I don’t usually have a huge chunk of time all to myself during the day, but I can squeeze 20 minutes here and there to work on different projects or steps.

    • Not yet. I’m still trying to get more comfortable using all-purpose (which is what I have in the house) before I spend money on other types of flour to experiment with. I’d like to start baking with the whole wheat since it would be healthier, and if I am able to grow my own crop on our land in the future it would save even more money grinding it into flour myself.

  2. finally tried this! it rose well in the bowl but only so so in the pans. it also didn’t come out looking as yummy as yours! it did taste fine and we at one loaf at lunch for sandwiches. hopefully next time it will rise better in the pans and give me bigger slices so a loaf will laste more than 1 meal.

    • Yay! Glad you finally got to test out the recipe, Leslie. Every batch seems to turn out different for me too. As long as it fluffs even half way I’m happy. We’ve been able to make our loaves stretch farther by slicing it really thin with an electric knife after it has set in the frig overnight.

  3. Amy ~ Thank you for your link (in the moneysavingmom.com comments) to this post. I will definately try this recipe and also start buying flour in bulk as you suggested. I have 4 kids and all 4 prefer sandwiches in their lunch boxes whichs makes for a lot eaten bread around here. I like that this recipe calls for all purpose flour rather than bread flour which cost more.

  4. Pingback: 12 Meals in 1 Afternoon « Are We There Yet?

  5. I tried this yesterday, and it tasted pretty good! It was my first time ever trying homemade bread, so I think we did good lol I think i took it out of the oven too early because it still tasted a little.. gummy? not sure if that’s what i wanted to describe it as. I’ll have to try it out a couple more times to see if I can get it to work better 🙂 thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

